the beast on the lamp post

I had nothing to do with any of the initial decisions regarding the home Tim and I currently inhabit.  I just “moved in” and inherited everything.

Tim’s been really good about letting me change things.  Make them my own.  Give it my personal touch.

The landscaping has been one such item.  I suck at growing things.  But I didn’t really *like* some of the plants and the location of their growth.

And Tim, good soul he is, moved them to other locations in the yard because his conscience couldn’t just THROW AWAY a perfectly healthy plant.  I always hold out hope that the plant wouldn’t like its new location and slowly shrink up and die…but Tim has some kind of luck with plants.  Anything he puts in the ground magically springs back to life.

And I cannot keep something labeled “un-killable” alive.

Whatever.

So, we have this…ginormous vine thing that produces pretty yellow flowers.  I like it.  I just don’t like where it is growing.  It used to be a cute, little thing slowly creeping up the pole and sprouting a few dozen flowers at the top.  It was like in the movies where there is this perfect lamp post with JUST the right amount of greenery.

Now….its an unstoppable force.  It has figured out not only how to grow INSIDE the glass where if we turned on the light we would have an instant fire hazard but also how to sprout flowers in a contained environment, all the while multiplying and creating layer upon layer at an alarming rate.

DSC_4693

I mean, the lamp post is eventually not going to exist.  Instead it will look like we have some kind of magic vine that defies gravity.

Tim won’t remove it.  He says he likes it all huge and bushy.

6 Responses to “the beast on the lamp post”


  1. 1 tishrei June 17, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    HAHA — seriously, I really got a good laugh at that lamp post. Keep it — that’s too much of a conversation piece to get rid of.

  2. 3 Shannon June 17, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Your plant is kinda creepy. When they get to growing like that it is like they have a mind of their own and can attack you like in the movie The Happening.

    • 4 Jessica June 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm

      No kidding…I’m not even sure HOW it grew to that size…we’ve been in a drought for YEARS. I think it may be snatching up little birds as they try to nest there…because nests have never “happened” in that thing.

  3. 5 Sarah@callmemama June 17, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    That’s too funny! You need to do some guerrilla pruning 😉

    • 6 Jessica June 17, 2009 at 7:00 pm

      I’ll get my husband riiiight on it…that way I can call for help if he goes missing for hours and I walk outside and only see a hand holding pruning shears sticking out of the middle with muffled sounds coming from within…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

your favorites (I didn’t pick ’em)

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


