i’m good training

Tim’s got a few years on me.  Thirteen to be exact.  And that presents an interesting paradox. More for those who inquire about our marriage.  I get the eyebrow raise like, “Really?….He’s HOW much older?”  Tim gets a high five.

But it puts an interesting spin on things at home, too. Because at times it’s like I’m seeing something for the first time and Tim’s an old pro.

And it’s hard for him to allow me to touch the stove, knowing I’m going to get burned, if you know what I mean.

How do you fix that?  You can’t, really.  Just like you can’t explain to a child why ear wax is gross or why milk and orange juice don’t mix.

They don’t believe you until they try it.  And once they do, they realize you were onto something in that warning that fell on deaf ears and they’ll never do it again.

I tell Tim I am good training for when a child bearing our genes comes along and is running around the house, painting walls and pulling the tails of our animals.

He just half-smiles and shakes his head.

Tim’s a fixer.  And his brain doesn’t compute when the solution is to allow someone he cares about to fail.

Well, I’ve got news, Honey.  We mess up.  A LOT.

2 Responses to “i’m good training”


  1. 1 Shannon June 15, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Absolutely understand. Bill and I had an age gap and they look at you like you are seriously going to stick your hand in the fire at some point! Funny!

    • 2 Jessica June 16, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      Isn’t it funny? We think, “Why not? It looks like it should work.”

      And they just stare at us like, “Sure. Go ahead. Just wait. You’ll see I’m right.”


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


