booby traps

Maddie is like Tim and my own personal shadow.  Except unlike the quiet, move-out-of-your-way-when-necessary typical shadow, we actually trip over the one she casts. 

She has perfected the art of being in the way.  And she knows exactly what she’s doing.  The innocent, “Who, me?” look doesn’t fool anyone.  Her favorite place to do this is the kitchen whenever we’re making dinner.  The phrase, “COME ON MADDIE!  Move it!” will inevitably fly out of someones mouth because we’ve almost dumped a fully cooked meal thanks to her strategically placed body, sprawled out in the middle of the floor.  Right where all the action takes place.  Right where we have to walk from counter top to stove. Right where she cannot go unnoticed.

But there is a flaw…oh, yes Maddie…a flaw in your seemingly perfect plan.

And it happens when Tim and I are not in the same room.

At first, Maddie would go ballistic, running from one room to another, stopping just long enough in front of Tim or myself, panting and wild-eyed, looking at us like, “WHAT are you DOING?! Come with ME!  I will SHOW YOU THE WAY. S/HE IS RIGHT OVER HERE.”

Then, she got smart(er) when she resigned herself to the fact that Mommy and Daddy are not always going to be found together.  So she devised her own early warning system.  It goes something like this:

Mommy is in the bathroom…Daddy is in another room…

If I sit outside the door of said room and wait for Daddy…I cannot see when Mommy leaves the shower and then she might get LOST and will not know how to find Daddy.  That is unacceptable.

So I will set one of my trusted companions, Chuck-the-Duck, outside of the shower to wait for Mommy.  If Chuck-the-Duck is no longer where I left him, then Mommy has vacated.  And I must find her.

This early warning system has now been put in place not only for Tim and I but for The Girls, treats, and plants (in case they decide to pick up and run to find a better life, which I cannot blame them, as I am the Grim Reaper to all plants).

trap3

trap1trap2

2 Responses to “booby traps”


  1. 1 sendtoharvey May 31, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    the stuffed cat hiding is awesome..i duno why i laughed, but it was great

    • 2 Jessica June 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

      Glad you liked it…wish I had a picture of the other places she puts her tigger-who-has-no-stripes. It was waiting for me outside of the door after I finished my “business” the other day…


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,431 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


