three throw-up rule

I’ve mentioned before that the vet and I are on a first name basis.  I can call in the middle of the day, say I have a crisis, and have an appointment in twenty minutes.  That part I like.  The thing that doesn’t like the vet so much?

The bank account.

I was asked yesterday at work if I had a trust fund to pay for all of the vet bills.  The answer was no…but afterwards I thought about how much money we’ve given that place…I should demand some sort of recourse.  I mean, I think we actually KEEP them in business.  If we go for more than a month without a trip to the vet, I’ll get an email from them saying its “pet dental month” or “pet obesity month” or “pet eyesight awareness month.”  SOMETHING to make me think….OH MY GOD.  IS GRACIE NEARSIGHTED?  DOES MADDIE HAVE A CAVITY?  FIVE EXTRA POUNDS WILL DO WHAT??  SHOULD I MAKE AN APPOINTMENT???

My credit card now volunteers itself out of my wallet into the receptionists hands.  I don’t even reach for it anymore.  That little piece of plastic knows the drill.  I’m starting to think it enjoys the sensation of hundreds of dollars being added to it in one fell swoop.

There are now parameters around when a fur-child may see the vet. 

Yearly checkup?  Fine. 

Peeing blood?  We’ll let that one go too. 

Broken appendage?  That one gets a pass.

What about throwing up? 

Who was it and how many times?

With the girls, I’ve got a three throw up, 48 hour rule.  Once – something wasn’t quite right inside.  Twice – maybe they didn’t get it all up the first time.  Three times  all in succession?  I’ll give it another day. Over the course of two days? I’ll call.

Maddie, on the other hand, will throw up if she gets overly excited, a piece of food goes down wrong, she gets a hair in her throat, eats grass….she’d have to be blowing chunks and lethargic before I pick up the phone.

We’re not insensitive.  It’s just…the LAST time we went rushed a fur-child to the vet, our emergency was a constipated cat.

2 Responses to “three throw-up rule”


  1. 1 Davis May 5, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Wow, I sure know these feelings. Just paid $600+ to fix my male cat’s urinary system. Now, his works better than mine!

    • 2 Jessica May 5, 2009 at 9:39 am

      Incredible the things we do for our pets…the one with the constipation – she was the lucky recepient of an enema. You can imagine how that went.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,425 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


