never, ever again.

Tim and I ran the GA ING half marathon last year.  We will not be repeat racers.  I saw today that the race is this weekend. http://www.ajc.com/metro/content/metro/atlanta/stories/2009/03/27/ing_marathon_traffic.html). 

Why will we not be running, you ask?  Well, in all my years of races…in cities big and small…I’ve always been able to start the race and finish the race without having to worry about waiting around for cars to pass.  I do that every weekend around my neighborhood and it’s nice not to have to worry about dodging traffic on race day.

Race day at the GA ING in 2008…not so much fun.  Amongst other things…like the start corral areas being total chaos…the Atlanta Police decided to block RUNNERS and not CARS during the race.  And, though Tim and I may be slow… we were ahead of the scheduled times for the roads to open up to car traffic.  We happened to be at the front of the police generated people-stoppage and I seriously thought a riot was going to break out right then and there – water bottles and gu being projected in the general direction of cars and policemen.  I can’t say I wasn’t one of those willing participants.  I, along with however many hundreds of people around and behind me, were screaming in outrage – “HOW could you STOP US??  This would NEVER happen in New York or Boston!!”  Those comments continued for the remainder of the race.  At the point those nice men in blue told us all to “stop and wait for the cars” (I know, it sounds ridiculous to say, even now) we were only halfway through so we had a loooong time to think about it and voice our opinions.

To the Atlanta policeman who stopped us:  Thanks.  I’ll be sure to remember that the next time you come calling for donations.

To the GA ING race organizers:  I get it.  Things happen.  But when I write a nice, professional letter to you…voicing my concern, I would recommend a response the next time.  We’ve told other runners not to participate, unless they want their pace to be thrown off by none other than those hired to keep you moving through all those busy intersections.

Can you tell I’m still bitter?  I feel much better now that I’ve released my frustration to the world.

We’re chancing it with the cold and altitude this year – see you in Salt Lake!

2 Responses to “never, ever again.”


  1. 1 spookwright March 28, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Curious… “Although, Tim and I may be slow…” – What is “slow?” I’ve started running and want to train for a marathon. Full one. In January. What’s “slow?” How nuts am I? I’ve got a 26-week program, but no coach… Time limit is 16-minute miles, 7 hours. Easy one, but, I don’t want to be a boof. Maybe post more about running for me? Please?!?!

    • 2 Jessica March 28, 2009 at 9:40 pm

      First of all – in all seriousness (which is hard for me…) awesome goal. I’m happy to help any way I can. You’re definitely nuts – but so is everyone else who does it. That’s why it is so much fun. I posted two things – part of my marathon story and then running related items I’ve decided I cannot leave home without. I’ve got lots more waiting in the wings…I’ll link my training schedule in the ‘i’m not crazy’ post. Suggestions are welcome. Keep me posted (haha) on your progress!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


