pay your dues

What is with the “paying your dues” mentality?  It’s like I need my face to be ground into the dirt enough times to make sure I know what it tastes like.  I get it.  It’s dirt.  Why is it when someone *makes it* that flies right out of the window and said person can do nothing less than walk on water.  I am finding the “getting there” is the challenge.  It’s like blockade after blockade after blockade.  I don’t feel like I have overwhelming support because I’m taking a risk and I didn’t grow up around or marry into the risk-taker category.  This may be a good thing for stability purposes but not so much for chasing dreams.  I’m sure my little haphazard support group wants me to succeed.  I know they’re still holding up the “You go girl!” signs but I think the enthusiasm went away a long time ago.  I’ve been trying to start my rocky path but I keep getting shoved to the back of the line.  And now, it is about time I start shoving back.  I may have been that little kid that sits in the corner of the sandbox while the other kids throw sand bombs at me but it is time I make my stand.  It’s not so funny when I’ve got all the sand now.

0 Responses to “pay your dues”



  1. Leave a Comment

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,426 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


