cornish hens

“Young chicken” I guess is too much for some people to bear to purchase.  It’s like foie gras versus force-fed duck liver.  We name them something more elegant and don’t think about what it really is.  I digress…either way, I’ve never made a cornish hen before and I learned something important about those little gals a few days ago.  Do not make them for a romantic meal.  I saw Giada make a pair of cornish hens on one of her shows for a date night with her husband.  While I was debating on a romantic-its-the-end-of-the-week meal I remembered Giada and her hens.  Perfect!  Granted, I do not like cooking any kind of meat but I was in the why not try it? mood.  Tim and I could sit at the table, candles lit with flowers as our centerpiece, enjoying our wine and hens and each other.  Turns out, those hens are a little too small for normal sized utensils.  Our romantic meal turned into my husband and I working a fresh kill with our fingers.  Those hens ended up being eaten by hand because of their tiny little bodies.  Note to self: purchase a miniature knife and fork combo.  It would have made things MUCH better.  Instead of finishing a simple, delicate meal it looked like we had each torn apart an animal and left its carcass on our plates.  This does not fall in the romantic category.  Not the picture I had intended during my preparation.  Not something I will repeat unless it is for anatomy purposes.

0 Responses to “cornish hens”



  1. Leave a Comment

Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,424 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


