reality check

This isn’t really…okay. Question. Have you ever realized you made the wrong call about a good person? I mean, sure, we all know when we know someone isn’t right for us. That’s actually easier to deal with and accept. They weren’t right/didn’t click/mesh. Your brain can justify that. Pretty cut and dry for the most part.

But what about those people you kind of kept on the bench…on the sidelines…for no reason?

Then, one day, it’s like reality comes around and cold clocks you right across the jaw all, “What is wrong with you? This person should be part of your starting five. Get their ass onto the hardwood.”

(You’re welcome for the analogy, basketball fans. Lest I not get too far from my roots)

This happened to me recently. Like as in this week. And once I realized it, in my brain, I was just like, wow. What was I (not) thinking?! Why wasn’t I cultivating this friendship for the past YEAR (plus?)?!

My bad. My fault. My loss.

This person? Amazing. Truly one of those “good people” who are pretty impossible to find. I don’t even *know* her as well as I would like to, but I don’t even question that she falls into that category. There aren’t many people who do….and what she did for me today, completely unsolicited/unexpected, as in I got a text while Kellan and I were out, saying there was something for us on my porch, was one of the nicest things anyone has done for me (that I didn’t know was happening/ask for/expect/etc) in a really long time (long story short: macaroons, Pooh book for Kellan, and a long forgotten about/unexpected payback from Halloween).

I’m partially kicking myself for wasting so much time not getting to know her, but at the same time, I am glad I received a reality check from life. Because now I can try to remedy the situation. To get to know her. Spend more time. Cultivate and grow.

I’m hoping it’s not too late.

3 Responses to “reality check”


  1. 1 taryn March 7, 2014 at 9:45 am

    Wow. She sounds like a nice girl. I’m sure she feels lucky to know you too. Who wouldn’t?

  2. 2 Jolene March 7, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    this makes me wish we lived closer! you are such a good soul and friend, and I know we would be that kind of good friend if we were in the same neck of the woods! It is refreshing to learn a friend IS worth it, when often, there is letdown when a friend we thought was, actually isn’t. XOXO

    • 3 Jessica March 7, 2014 at 9:43 pm

      Jo – I KNOW! Every time I see your little coffee meetups with Amanda I’m like….ME! I should be there! If we ever move close to you, watch out! BFF alert! ;) XO friend!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,364 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,364 other followers

