resolution to be a shiny happy person

I’m actually really ready for 2014. 2013 was nice and all…but it wasn’t a banner year, that’s for sure. Not saying it was terrible. It just wasn’t a year I will look back on like, “WOW!” Even though I turned 30. And visited San Diego. And Portland (and Bend! Oh how I loved Bend!). And had a whole myriad of other things happen. It just wasn’t my year. I like even years. I have no idea why. I’m really excited for 2014. I’m ready.

I’ve been (kind of) trying to actively work on what I’m about to say for a little while. Maybe a few months at most. However, it is something that I really want to achieve. More than anything. And in order to achieve it, I have many, many hurdles to overcome.

My “goal” (or resolution or whatever you want to call it) for this year is to become a happy, positive person. The kind of person who probably annoys others because they’re always finding the silver lining in even the worst situations. I feel like I used to be more like this, but alas, I am older, more skeptical, and seemingly surrounded by realists who tend to find the potential disaster before the positive outcome, so my goal will be an uphill battle at times. This isn’t to blame anyone, it just is what it is. Everyone seems to be going crazy and the internet is full of snark. It is just something I have to learn to understand and not allow to dampen my spirit. I tend to be heavily affected by the moods of others and I need to train myself to keep my mood/positive outlook intact instead of it crumbling when I hear how it’s not possible or it is silly to consider the brighter (“unrealistic”) side when the world is so obviously negative. None of this is to say I am an unhappy person. I am just not exactly who I want to be in the positivity department. I need that to change. So, I’m going to try like hell to change it.

I’m not even sure how I am going to make this change. I’ve been collecting positive quotes on Pintrest and have been considering putting up positive quote posters (of some variation) in rooms around the house to remind me to keep my head in the positive space instead of allowing negativity to sit and brew in my brain. Negativity breeds like freaking rabbits and makes things exponentially more dramatic and worse than they really are in the first place (that sentence doesn’t sound right, but I had wine prior to editing. This is not at all suggested when trying to sound serious and/or like you know what you’re talking about).

If something negative does happen, I want to deal with it, feel the emotion, and then let it go, instead of stewing and holding into it.

I’m also going to start running on the regular again, since that always puts me in a good mood, even when I struggle getting out of the door sometimes. It’s worth it. Kellan really enjoys “rundy dundin’”

I need this change for myself. I need it for Kellan. And for Tim. I want them to know that life is happy and fun and amazing. I want to radiate that mindset and lifestyle.

Even though bad things happen, I don’t want Kellan to become a cynic. He is such a joyful little boy who finds laughter in all things. The last thing I want to do is dampen his precious spirit. He deserves happiness. And I am determined to be that for him. And Tim.

And me.

I have A LOT of personal growth ahead of me. I’m excited. And kind of scared.

Happy 2014.

The Year of Inner Change.

6 Responses to “resolution to be a shiny happy person”


  1. 1 Jolene January 1, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    I love this idea, friend. And I think that it is something I struggle with form time to time too, more in the sense that I take things too personally and jump to conclusions and get angry, instead of pausing, stepping back and seeing it for what it is. So, I get this, I totally do. And think 2014 will be a great time to nip this one for good!

  2. 2 PJ January 1, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Love this idea. I should work on being more positive this year also.

  3. 3 Sanibel January 1, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    I feel like this is what I was trying to write in my own post but it didn’t come out that way:) Thank you for that. I’m so tired of the negativity and the one upping and comparisons to everything. I just want to BE and enjoy the good, here and now.
    I also echo your 2013ickyishness. That’s a word, look it up. I’m all about the even and the number 13 just didn’t feel right:)
    I’ll help you if you help back me in this. Blog power:)!

  4. 4 adewvall January 2, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    Great idea and definitely more of a lifestyle/mindset to live than a box to check, so it’s something that just for trying will make a difference. Even if you can be positive about one thing, that’s one more thing than before ; ). Haha. Two things that help me with this are 1.) smiling (amazing how this actually [science!] boosts your mood 2.) physically writing down things I am grateful for (about the day, whatever) in a journal. This helps me be more positive and mindful and they are the first two things I turn to when I realize I am in a dark place, so maybe they’ll be good to try (no pressure! haha- I tend to horn in on others’ goals!) Have a kickass 2014!

  5. 5 lucindalines January 3, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    I loved your phrase that negativity breeds like rabbits. I don’t think I have heard a truer statement in a long while. I also agree that with the previous commenter. Keeping a journal is perhaps the best thing I did for myself. I was always feeling so awful that I wasn’t doing anything. After rereading my 2013 journal, I wonder how it all got done. Yet I know I had plenty of down time. Good luck on your goal, and love to read your posts, just hanging out with that adorable son should make anyone a positive person.

  6. 6 Maureen January 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    I feel like I’m a pretty positive person, but I also tend to be very affected by others’ moods. Like if someone else around me is upset, it almost seems unfair that I am happy. And I also hold onto grudges like none other. So, I know how you feel. Good luck on being happy. You can do it!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,329 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,329 other followers

