terrible twos. i am going crazy.

It’s 12:34, which is ironic, given that I always think, “make a wish!” whenever I catch that time (1234). And right now, I need a wish. The whole purpose of even starting this post was to lament and complain and whine.

My child. He’s entering the terrible two stage. And it’s going to be the end of my sanity.

We managed to whine and cry and become absolutely hysterical over eating breakfast. Putting on pants. Walking to the door to go outside (HIS REQUEST)….it’s never ending.

Tim was all, “let him go outside without clothes. Then he’ll realize the need.”

That’s an excellent idea. Except, I am so exhausted from getting zero sleep every day this week, save one, that I do not seem to have the ability of forethought.

Why no sleep?

Kellan has decided that staying awake for countless hours in the middle of the night is a great idea. This is how his brain handles development. Sleep goes by the wayside. Naps are short. Bedtime is late, waking up in the morning is super early.

And by “awake” in the middle of the night, I mean talking, asking to get up, nursing non-stop, wanting to comfort pinch me, it’s a relentless barrage that means I’m not allowed to sleep, either. And leaves me touched out.

Last night – or this morning, who knows, really – the house made a settling noise that, to an almost, finally asleep, Kellan, sounded like Tim opening the door to come in and walk into the bathroom to get ready for work.

Kellan jolts awake all, “It’s daddy!”

No, that was not daddy.

“It’s the cats!”

I was too tired to laugh, but it was funny. Process of elimination, per the toddler. Begin another however long until he finally fell asleep.

Anyhow.

I realize this is just a phase, and that it will pass, but this particular one has been much harder on me for some reason. My brain is fried. My child has become…is becoming…his own person…and with it comes ample stubbornness. I’m too tired to cope. Everyday activities are now monumentally more challenging because someone has an opinion and that opinion inevitably comes out in varying forms of NO.

And the whining….please make it stoooop.

One day, it will stop. I know. But that day…is not today.

Onward I trudge.

5 Responses to “terrible twos. i am going crazy.”


  1. 1 mrsloquacious1 November 15, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    I’m going nuts too! DD cries if I don’t make her food fast enough, when she wants or doesn’t want something and changes her mind a second later, when I don’t read her mind about what she wants when she says, “I want that one!”, when I set any limits whatsoever, when I’m sitting and she wants me to stand, when I blow my nose, when I don’t give her 100% of my attention when she wants it… Dang near anything can and will set her off if she is in a mood. Toddler PMS :/ So I feel your pain.

  2. 3 pfchico November 15, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    I feel for you. My daughter is an overachiever, so she started her terrible twos a few months early. She asks for juice, I bring her juice. She screams “No no no” & then throws it on the floor. Mealtime is a nightmare & I just had an epic bedtime meltdown about 10 minutes ago. I have found ways to manage some of these meltdowns but some days I don’t have the patience to remain level headed enough to implement them, I hear that age 3 is worse. How can this be? Good luck,mommy! Take a deep breath & maybe a drink.

  3. 5 Sanibel November 25, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Oh no, this sounds horrible. You need a spa day :) Or a sit in a quiet room by yourself day. We had terrible 3’s. I would call Dustin at work, crying, begging him to come and get satans child.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,348 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,348 other followers

