yah. that didn’t happen.

Have you ever read that “story” about the dad who comes home to utter chaos – kids running around in their pajamas, half-eaten food everywhere, every room a complete disaster? And he’s searching frantically for his wife because something must be wrong? And he finds her upstairs, in bed, reading? And then she says you know how you ask what I do all day? Well, today I didn’t do it.

That’s the situation with the kitchen and family room right now. Complete disaster. Buttons – hundreds of buttons in varying shades of green – are in every corner, scattered all over the floor, under the table, in places we won’t even realize for months, probably. And it looks like Hobby Lobby exploded all over the kitchen table. Scrapbook paper, sewing needles and thread, ribbons and miscellaneous buttons, felt and probably a pair of scissors.

All because I wanted to try and complete one tiiiiiny piece of our advent calendar for this year.

Leave a toddler unsupervised for thirty minutes and your whole house will turn itself inside out. They’re all conspiring against you, really. Toddlers. Houses. Toys of all kinds.

I told Tim yesterday that I felt like I had zero time to so anything other than domestic duties. I mean, really, is the laundry EVER DONE?

No, no it’s not.

Neither are the dishes.

They both auto populate with things you don’t even remember using or wearing or seeing on another person. We may as well slap an infinity sticker on their fronts because they’re always full, half full, or being filled.

I cannot seem to catch up and my need for organization and order is sounding bells and whistles in my brain. Note: The Container Store is my BFF. If you don’t know what to get me for Christmas, start there. I’d be forever grateful. There are about seventy million half finished projects going on in my life right now. The advent calendar “fillers” being one, because I can’t just write the activity on a piece of paper and call it a day. Noooooooooo. I have to go and make *special* tchotchkes.

Granted, once they’re done, I never have to make them again, so, really, I’m saving myself work in the long run, right? That’s what I keep telling myself, anyway….

It’ll be super cute once I’m finished. I mean, when you buy this advent calendar, you can’t just put paper notes inside. It’s blasphemy!

So, I guess there will be many more days of utter house chaos and destruction, if I am ever going to finish anything…

5 Responses to “yah. that didn’t happen.”


  1. 1 mrsloquacious1 November 5, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    My Advent calendar? Buying it from Starbucks. LOL. Yep, I am lazy like that!

  2. 2 Angelia Sims November 6, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Oh my! Well the advent calendar is cute as can be. Love!
    Laundry is my nemesis too. Even worse, the girls use their CLOTHES as doll blankets. You know. The clean ones. Arrrgggghhhh.

  3. 3 Jill November 9, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    how did people survive before the Container Store…. ?

  4. 4 team831 November 18, 2013 at 9:19 am

    I love it! What kind of activities and things are you putting inside?


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,350 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,350 other followers

