18 months. already?!

You know, I was just about to write something about how Kellan had been sleeping better and only woke up one or two times the past few nights and everything is getting better….and then?

Last night?

MIDNIGHT TO WHO KNOWS WHEN.

This kid may not be crying when he’s bright eyed and bushy tailed during the wee hours of You’re Supposed To Be Asleep, he is instead kicking and rolling and slapping the covers and wanting to nurse, not wanting to nurse, “switch sides” (as in, the boob? Empty. Switch, please).

Begin broken record: “Kellan, please go. to. sleep.”

He will be 18 months in a few days and I am feeling every second if the sleep regression.

***

So, yah. Kellan is 18 months old, um, today. Obviously I failed to finish my thoughts from the previous bit of writing effort.

Let’s just say that last night?

Good sleep.

Will tonight be the same?

(Dramatic pause)

(Still pausing)

*shoulder shrug*

On a completely different note, he’s 100% mobile – finally! – and can now climb up the stairs by himself, even though he will whimper and say, “Tough. Help please. Mommy hand.” at the last step because he doesn’t have anything to hold onto to push down on to assist in leverage. He can do it, but it’s quite the struggle.

He’s also starting to talk in 2- and3-word sentences. Just the other night he handed a washcloth to Tim during his bath and said, “Have it.”

It took Tim a minute to digest what was happening before he reacted and took the washcloth that Kellan was giving to him. The same thing happened to me this morning when Kellan looked at me and said, “Ready?”

I was like, “Huh?”

Then, I realized he had a ball and was asking me if I was ready to catch it. Once I said, “Yes, I’m ready,” he threw it to me.

Our minds are blown pretty much daily ’round here.

3 Responses to “18 months. already?!”


  1. 1 Cindy August 19, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    Happy 1 1/2 year Birthday, Kellan! It’s so fun “watching” you (Jessica, not Kellan) and Tim experience the development of your child. It’s always incredible, and never exactly the same twice, but there’s something especially mind-blowing about the first tme you see it up close and personal. Let me know when he starts saying, “actually…” That was always my favorite. :)

  2. 2 Lindsay Byers August 22, 2013 at 11:54 am

    My best friend has an extremely verbal first born boy who sounds so much like Kellan (but he’s 4 now). Her daughter (2) is on the completely “normal” path of language development and she feels like the poor girl is a mute and was actually worried about her for a while! Just thought I’d give you something to file away for future reference since your future children (if you choose to have more) likely won’t be a genius in the same area. :)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,387 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers

