the new priorities

I used to take pride in myself for things like…

remembering to close cabinets. Sorry for giving you so much grief about that, mom. You’re right. You *did* think you had closed it.

Turning off lights as I leave a room.

Paying attention to details.

Recalling a short grocery list from memory.

Putting on makeup.

Now?

I take pride in just surviving. the. day.

And the night.

Early this morning – and I mean eaaaaarllllly as in 12:30am – Kellan took a random poo.

This child has not pooped in the middle of the night in a looooong time. He barely even wets his diaper anymore, so waking up and smelling poo?

Not exactly my idea of fun.

Somehow, my mommy sense roused me to a semi-conscious state while it was still warm (TMI. You’re welcome).

I debated with myself for a few minutes all, “Do I REALLY need to get up? Can he just stay in a poopy diaper?”

Relax – I already knew the answer was yes, I had to change it. The risk of a horrendous diaper rash along with the potential for the poo to leak out was enough for me to take action. I won’t even start on the smell…

Suffice it to say, no one was happy about the ordeal. Tim heard the commotion that was Kellan loudly protesting my waking him up and changing his diaper and stumbled into Kellan’s room, taking the dirty diaper downstairs to the outside trash while I finished getting Kellan’s bum clean. This morning he was like, “I’m not even sure I remember throwing the diaper away…”

The thing is, I KNEW he had to poop before bed last night. He let out a precursor in the tub (first time EVER) and we kept him up and moving around for a good thirty minutes to try to help him get the poo out.

Obviously, no such luck.

So, instead, his body decided it could no linger hold its prize and out it came.

Having to get up like that, dealing with the nauseating feeling you get when you are forced wake up and function before you’re ready, brought me right back to the newborn days.

I did not enjoy that part of the newborn phase and I was quickly reminded that I am not yet far enough away from those memories to do it again. The good part about the first time around is that you have NO IDEA what you’re about to experience, so you just power through.

The second time….you have to brace yourself because you know what’s coming.

One 12:30am poopy diaper is all it took for me.

Uterus is still closed.

Priorities, people.

3 Responses to “the new priorities”


  1. 1 Mrs Loquacious July 22, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    I totally hear you, sister! There won’t be another baby born in this house until such time that I am able to at least take a sh!t in relative peace. And shower and brush my teeth regularly. Priorities indeed!

  2. 2 Anonymous July 22, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    You just reinforced one of the many many reason I chose to remain childless. Haaaaaa I love them as long as they are someone elses. Give smelly boy a hug n kiss for me.

  3. 3 lucindalines July 24, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    The second one is so much easier. They try to keep up with the first and all things are easier.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,387 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers

