my parenting style isn’t winning me any popularity points

A quick hello to you guys! I wrote a super long post about mom friends and differing parenting styles and awkwardness on What to Expect and that pretty much exhausted my one long post a week quota, so….show a girl some love and click on over? I actually worked really hard on it, so, it really needs to be appreciated by those who know me best (you guys, duh).

And if any of my in real life mom friends read this? Please don’t take it personally. It isn’t directed at you. At all. I’m exercising my inner demons. Or something (Ace Ventura flashback…”I have ex-er-cised the demons!”)

In the meantime, this is my life, as of late.

And by “late” I mean a few hours ago.

Green hat, blue and white sweater, red snow pants, and brown shoes. We are stylin!

20130325-144931.jpg

(It’s the end of winter and I refuse to buy anything new so that he is all cold weathermatchey-matchey. We all know he will wear said new outfit one to zero times in his entire life. So, yes, I realize he looks like a hobo, and yes, it was kind of on purpose, and no, I’m not really very concerned.)

13 Responses to “my parenting style isn’t winning me any popularity points”


  1. 1 IfByYes March 25, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Ha. I sympathize. It was the same for me. The good part though is that many of my mom friends had their kids AFTER me and I got to watch one by one as the “I don’t think I’ll co sleep, I know it works for you but not for me” people caved one by one MWAHAHAHAHAHA.

  2. 2 Mrs Loquacious March 25, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Great post Jessica! Plus I can totally relate. Mind you, we have very similar parenting styles and challenging babies. I definitely get a lot of static about my nursing to sleep and bed-sharing, and likewise I’m sure my piss-poor poker face has given away my feelings when I hear ppl talk about h

  3. 3 Mrs Loquacious March 25, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    ..how they let their little babies cry it out and suffer for hours on end until they give up and learn to “self-soothe.” However, I have a different way of looking at this “unpopular” thing. I don’t want to be like everyone else anyway, since I feel like sometimes the masses are ignorant and take the path of least resistance rather than the most educated and beneficial one. My Hubbs and I are not average ppl; we don’t have an average IQ or income or world view. Why should our parenting be average when nothing else about us is? But I know, I *know*, that our choices are the best ones for our baby and she will have advantages over those poor, cortisol-ridden, sleep trained babes in the long run.

    • 4 Jessica March 26, 2013 at 8:45 am

      Mrs. L — that’s how I try to look at it. The choices we/I make are what is best for Kellan and Kellan needs different things than other kiddos. And average is boring ;)

  4. 5 MC March 26, 2013 at 5:56 am

    He looks cute!
    My kids seem to be a lot like yours and just like you I had tons of plans (all found and used by all the great examples on what to expect etc ofcourse) but non of them worked out lol. My daughter ended up sleeping in my bed (hubby was deployed the first year of her life) because i was too tired of the constant feeding and holding and trying to find the paci….we both slept and not just slept we loved it. She ended up sleeping on the floor in our room for a year because the bed time in her room didnt work at all (we took turns with hubby laying there with her just so she would scream and scream until we fell asleep exhausted and she played with our hair). Well, she is 4 now: goes to bed at 8-9ish, sleeps in her room, in her bed, is fully pottytrained and has been for the longest time with no accidents from the beginning, she talks and has a vocabulary of 20 year old lol. Same with my almost 2 year old, he has been easier but follows in big sis footsteps. I have noticed that the kids that dont follow the cio method or know exactly what, when, how grow up to be stronger and smarter. Just something I have noticed when looking at kids around us and naturally my own so maybe its a blessing in disguise

    • 6 Jessica March 26, 2013 at 8:46 am

      Ifbyyes — I wish I was on that side! Kellan is almost the youngest in my group, so I have the opposite – everyone else has already “been there” so they have that experience I’ve yet to encounter — which, well, you know how that goes :)

    • 7 Jessica March 26, 2013 at 8:48 am

      MC – I don’t even make many plans anymore ;) — major kudos to you, going it alone while your hubby was deployed. I barely survive a week when mine is out of town! I bow to you!

  5. 8 Jill March 26, 2013 at 10:09 am

    love it… thanks for directing us to the post! I am struggling with the decision to do Baby Led Weaning…. especially when I get the questioning look from other moms like I am insane! haha

    • 9 Jessica March 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

      Jill – thank you for reading it!! And baby led weaning is what we did…but mostly because Kellan pushed us in that direction (he refused purees). It went really well…the gagging at the beginning was terrifying…but he eventually figured it all out and now eats what we eat…plus cheese. He’s on a cheese kick… :)

  6. 10 Evelyn March 27, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Kellan is Kellan, and the other children? Are not. Go with your gut because ultimately you are his mommy and you DO know what’s best for him. Your ways will change with the second one, or not. You will do what is best for you and your family unit. Part of good parenting is going with the flow and not sweating the small stuff. Just keep enjoying the process. I was happy to read that you are getting a wee bit more relaxed about things.

  7. 11 Amber March 27, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    Jessica, I can totally relate to your parenting style and the fact that you NEVER saw it coming pre-baby! I, too, had visions of a baby peacefully falling to sleep while I rocked her and then continuing this peaceful sleep once I placed her in her crib. HA! We were in the exact same boat as you…co-sleeping, falling asleep nursing, never being away from Momma (EVER!), and we are currently still nursing at 21 months although we are just down to once a day and that is definitely coming to an end as this Momma is about done. ;) I don’t know what I would have done if I didn’t have other Mom friends who got it. They truly helped keep my sanity intact, as well as, offered great advice and shared experiences. Bummer about this Mom’s group and unfortunate that they exclude others just because their style is a bit different from their own. At least it sounds like you have a few other “crunchy granola” type friends who got your back. ;) I tend to prefer smaller close-knit groups anyway. Little Hobo Kellan is looking quite cute in the snow. :) Also, love reading your blog…your sense of humor truly brightens my day!

  8. 12 Ter March 29, 2013 at 12:08 am

    Loved your story on WTE. I too had the same ideals as you before my son came along. All the things you talked about I did the same. I still cuddle my boy to sleep now & he’s 4. They are only little for a bit & for that little snip in time I say enjoy it. Thank you for sharing your story. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one. :)

    • 13 Jessica March 29, 2013 at 6:48 am

      Thank you, Ter! I agree – one day he won’t want to be cuddly or anything…I may as well get it all in while I can :) and thanks for coming over to my little space to let me know I’m not alone! :)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,359 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,359 other followers

