oh the days

The other night, we went out to dinner since Tim had gotten home early. Going “out to dinner” is completely different than it used to be. We eat in shifts. One person entertains, the other shovels food down as fast as they can eats, and then we switch.

Right after our food came, Kellan became restless and whiny and since I had ordered a salad versus Tim’s hot sandwich, I took the first “entertaining” shift and decided to take him into the bathroom for a quick top off. i can’t feed him a la boobie in public anymore because every two seconds he pops off and looks around.

I’m not really one who wants to flash an entire restaurant, so, to the bathroom we go.

And yes, for those of you wondering, most times I have to sit on the toilet (pants on, though somewhere in my brain, a little voice always says, “something isn’t right, here…what if I have to GO??”) because most places do not have any other options. Anyhow, Kellan and I are doing our food train thing and someone else comes in and goes into a stall.

I wait for common and expected noises.

And I wait.

And wait.

And wait.

All of a sudden, I hear, “Hey. Do you have an extra name tag?”

I look down at Kellan like, “we have a lot of things in here but none of which could really be considered a name tag…”

The conversation continues, because she’s on the phone with someone else who works at the restaurant. My brain, however, took slightly longer than usual to realize this. The processing time seems to lag these days, and it gets exponentially worse the later the day gets. And it was around 5pm. By that point, it is usually done processing anything.

And this girl was, unfortunately, out of luck in the name tag department (the kitchen staff didn’t have any extras, either, FYI).

When we got back to the table, I was all, “There was this girl in the bathroom who was totally stressing because she forgot her name tag. Oh, the days where all I had to worry about was remembering a name tag! Why did I ever think life was complicated?”

And then Tim, not missing a beat, was all, “Oh the days where all she had to do was remember a name tag and she couldn’t even get THAT right.”

Touché.

2 Responses to “oh the days”


  1. 1 1st-time mom January 25, 2013 at 10:58 am

    lol Now its like packing for a long distance trip anytime you go out, …and of course the one thing that you forget, becomes the one thing that you really need! Also gone are the days of quickly running into a store to grab something.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,349 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,349 other followers

