the year of happy

In 2010, I started a thing where I decided to come up with a phrase/word that would somehow be representative of the year to come. Tim and I were kind of tired with where we lived, the monotony of how things had become, blah-de-blah blah.

Enter 2010. Knighted as the year of change.

At the time, I wasn’t working (I was taking a hiatus kind of thing to try and write a book. Turns out…writing a book is really hard...) and Tim was on again, off again searching for a job in a place we wanted to go — Oregon, Washington, Colorado……

Then, just as things were getting tight financially, I got an opportunity to have my old job back. Beginning at the start of the year. It was truly a blessing. A change.

In March if that same year, we flew to Hawaii and Tim ran his first marathon for his 40th birthday. He said he would never run a marathon….but he also said he would never run unless something was chasing him…and then there we were. Tim was a marathoner.

A few months later, Tim applied for a job. And he did phone interview after interview after interview. We didn’t get our hopes up. It went many weeks between interviews. We didn’t plan on actually going anywhere. Instead, we trained for another marathon in late September, since we weren’t super happy with our finishing time (hello, hot, humid, summer weather we were not acclimated for. Don’t train for a summer marathon in the winter is the take away message there).

Then, about a month before the marathon, which was in Western NY (we were living in GA), things with the job started happening. Quickly.

Long story short: He made it all the way to the final interview. Then, Tim flew home to await a fateful phone call. I’ll never forget the day he got it. He called me right after and the first words out of his mouth?

Pack your bags.

He was serious.

Now, all of a sudden, we were flying to New York to run a marathon and one week later, moving across the country to Denver, Colorado.

The year of change was certainly living up to its title.

By October of 2010, I had started…and resigned at my job for a second time (that went over like a lead balloon, let me tel you), we had run two marathons in two states, Tim got a new job and we were now living — LIVING — in Colorado.

Wow.

As for 2011….I have no idea. If I deemed that year anything, it should have been the year of the crazy learning curve. Tim had to learn a whole new way of, well, everything, at his new job. We had to learn our way around town…it was hectic. Chaotic. And did you know that when you give directions in Colorado, you say “Go north on X Street and then turn East on Y street.”

Yah. Well, now you know. And so do we.

Enter 2012.

2011 had been really rough for Tim at work. He was used to being the go-to guy. The can-do-no-(serious)-wrong guy. The knows-everything-about-the-plant guy.

Now? He was the new guy.

And that title came with a lot of bumps in the road. A lot.

He felt defeated. I felt bad for him.

As for me, writing was going ‘eh’ and I had no friends and had no idea what to do with myself. I wasn’t working because we had plans to start a family…and that happened in May of 2011. Hello, more craziness, though a good kind of crazy, this time.

Also, getting used to life on one paycheck is super hard. I’ve never been so eagle eye on finances before in my life. It was kind of scary, but somehow…somehow…we made it through.

I decided that things could only go up from where we were currently, and thus 2012 was the year of good things.

And good it was.

Tax return was fabulous.

Tim got a small pay increase.

We paid off everything, including a pesky five year loan. The only other payments we had (and have) are our cars and the house.

Kellan was born.

Tim got more comfortable with how things at work were supposed to go, gained confidence, found a great rhythm, and has done a fabulous, fabulous job.

I met a bunch of first time moms through a moms group and have been fortunate enough to develop relationships with them and can now easily and happily call them friends.

All these…very, very good things.

2012 was good to us.

And now, for 2013?

Happiness.

Through the trenches of being new parents and trying to adjust to this new life, we have lost our happy. It has seemingly been replaced with stress and fatigue and snippy comments and silence. We have been so focused on Kellan that we have forgotten ourselves; forgotten our happy.

That’s what we will be embracing this year. Being happy. Focusing on internal happiness and doing the little – and big – things that create external happiness for ourselves and others. Like, for instance, I’m going to try and stop nit picking. That doesn’t really make anyone happy. Ever.

Happiness will be in our conscious state of mind and will, in turn, become our way of being.

That’s the plan, anyway.

Happy 2013 everyone! I’ve missed you!

(And we are trying to keep our happy even through Kellan being sick. Yesterday started round two of a nasty stomach bug. He got sick the first time a few days before Christmas, had almost recovered and then BAM! Sick again. I’ve been puked on three times in less than 24 hours. That’s a new record, I think.)

10 Responses to “the year of happy”


  1. 1 mzemerson January 3, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Happy New Year. Somehow I stumbled onto your blog I think a month or two before the birth of Kellan. I liked the title of it. My daughters are now 24 and 21 years old, and it is wonderful reading your life unfold as a mother and family. Your blog is full of great humor, charming nuggets of wisdom and a great read. Thank you for sharing your life. Happy New Year, it is going to be a good, happy one.

    PS – I was born in Boulder in 1959 and lived there until 1976. Enjoy all that Colorado has to offer.

    Susan Emerson

    • 2 Jessica January 3, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Susan! Especially grateful for them on days like today! We love Colorado – only about 15 min from Boulder. It is a wonderful place!!

  2. 3 1st-time mom January 3, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I like your outlook for the new yeAr….I think I might adopt it. :) My little one is just recovering from part 2 of sickness also. I have never wiped so much about in my entire life!

  3. 4 1st-time mom January 3, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    *** wiped so much icky noses lol

    • 5 Jessica January 3, 2013 at 4:12 pm

      Adopt away!! :)

      Yes….it’s a sanitizing mad house here today…I’d like to be not sick for awhile…I mean, I’m not sick…you know what I’m saying… :)

      I empathize and am glad you guys are on the mend!

  4. 6 Jolene January 3, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    oh how I love this! I love your retrospective on the last couple of years (can still remember your big post about the move!!) and your progression as a mom and a wife and learning to do it all on one paycheck. You are incredible and can do anything you set your mind to, especially being happy. I look forward to YOUR YEAR of happy!!

  5. 7 lucindalines January 3, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    How cool, and living in the moment is what happy is all about…so I am beginning to realize. Loved this post!

  6. 9 Shannon January 4, 2013 at 8:09 am

    It is amazing how much has happened in just a few years. It takes one step in a direction to change your whole life. I don’t doubt at all you two will find your happy again this year plus so much more. Happy New Year!

  7. 10 Brandy January 16, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Well, happy “happy”! Love it. It’s inspired.


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,364 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,364 other followers

