my personality flaw…

How is it that Kellan’s social calendar is fuller than mine has EVER BEEN IN MY ENTIRE LIFE?

It’s like the kid is a magnet for play dates and outings and events.

(Well, with a face like that, duh)

Somehow I knew it would be like this…even though I honestly didn’t believe it would happen. I remember telling Tim as I was waddling along during one of our walks while Kellan was still in utero that I was going to have to force myself out into the great big scary world to meet people for Kellan’s sake (that was a really long sentence…probably should be a comma or something somewhere).

I didn’t realize that all of this socialization would also be for me. I figured I was doing what was right by Kellan because I didn’t want the kid growing up in isolation. He’d basically end up like whats-his-name…Mogley?…in the Jungle Book, raised by a pack of wild animals, including a singing bear, and not knowing the *people* rules.

Peeing on things to mark your territory? Running around on all fours buck ass naked? Swinging from vines?

Enticing…but, sadly, frowned upon after reaching a certain age.

Unless you’re truly a wild animal. Then, my bad.

Carry on.

Sorry to break it to you, buddy. (Human) Life is way too formal. I know.

And by the way, person who accepts people into the new mommy group (you know who you are): YOU’RE NOT SUPPOSED TO LET ANOTHER KELLAN INTO THE GROUP.

Even if his mother spells it “Kellen” it doesn’t matter.

There are rules to be followed, here.

I was first.

No more babies named Kellan.

I’m kidding.

Mostly.

[editor's note: sarcasm]

Anyway…where was I? I got totally sidetracked because when I told Tim about the second Kellan, he was like, “WHAT?! Noooooooooo.”

Right…moving on….

….

Can you tell I’m stalling because I can’t remember what it was I was going to say?

(and if I’m going to be honest, I REALLY don’t remember now because Tim came home after that sentence and then we went out to eat because I failed to make dinner and then we paid bills and whatever thought I had in my brain no longer exists. Apologies.)

So…….apparently everyone on Facebook and Instagram like this picture.

What do you think?

And if you’ve already seen it…I probably already know (I’d put a smiley face here but that seems inappropriate).

Also? Check out this super cute scrapbook page my awesome friend Joie (remember her?) made for Kellan! Isn’t it so adorable?

She’s way better than me at not over-using things like glitter and stickers and pretty things.

What?

It’s not that I don’t TRY to keep it simple…it just never happens. It’s not my personality. Never has been.

I wish I had a clip of my birthday party a loooooong time ago where my mom gave everyone a white t-shirt and puff paint (remember that stuff? So fun.) to make our own shirt. Suffice it to say the video camera panned over to my shirt where I had made somewhat of an oval with my name in the middle in lots of colors. Pan to other shirts. Aw! Flowers! Names with pretty swirly letters! Hearts! Pan back to me.

BROWN SMUDGE OF AN OVAL.

Apparently I used one too many colors and decided to just, um, yah. Mix everything together and hope for a miracle.

(My miracle didn’t happen. An ugly, brown oval shirt did, though)

During another birthday party my friend’s mom had us make these do-it-yourself pint-sized milk carton candles. And, of course, I thought putting ALL of the colors from the shaved crayons into the hot wax inside the carton would equal a super fantastic, brilliantly colorful candle.

You’re JUST using purple? Heh. What do YOU know?

Using all of the colors is what will make the most fabulous candle. Ever.

WRONG.

When it had cooled and I tore  the paper from the milk carton to expose my candle, excited to see my super awesome colorful creation, I was disappointed, to say the least.

Dear friend who just used purple: Touché.

PS: I hate you and your pretty lavender candle.

Just FYI? ALL of the colors equals a really ugly greenish-brown, similar to that of a swamp or something just as unpleasant and smelly.

My eight-year-old self was not pleased.

I really haven’t learned my lesson.

More is not better (not better, Jessica…NOT. BETTER.)

Which is all just a really long explanation as to why I don’t do scrapbooks.

But Joie does…so go check out her and her awesome skills.

5 Responses to “my personality flaw…”


  1. 1 Jess August 15, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Well maybe you shouldn’t have picked such a popular name. Couldn’t you have predicted that “K” names such as Kellan, Kai, Kyran, etc were going to be popular this year? THOSE OF US who picked unique names don’t have to deal with doubles. Now please excuse me, but I must go chase after Keegan.

  2. 2 rjlouise August 15, 2012 at 10:26 am

    D’aaawwwww, thanks! I’m so glad you like it! And go nuts with the glitter and sparkly. It’ll be a theme!!

  3. 3 jobo August 15, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    I hear you on more is not better. But the real reason why I am commenting…you have the cutest kid ever. seriously. I LOVE that one of you and Kellan!!

  4. 4 Arielle August 16, 2012 at 1:49 am

    I love the picture of Kellan and you, so cute! But I gotta say, his face looks just like Tim’s (but he has your green eyes) :)

  5. 5 Cindy August 17, 2012 at 8:07 am

    I just LOVE this rambly post. It’s how my brain works most of the time, and if I ever did *really* blog (instead of just posting a monthly list of stuff P2D2 is doing) (and I use the word “monthly” loosely) I’d probably ramble. I also feel the need to say (and this is probably incredibly rude to post on your blog) that your child is super duper holy wow cute. But. My kid is just a WEE bit cuter. ;)


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,387 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers

