holiday throwback: the series

Happy Christmas Eve!!

Who gets to open one present tonight????

I used to look forward to that tradition every year. We’d all come home after the Christmas Eve church service and then my brothers and I would get to go to the tree and pick out a gift to open.

I remember one particular year my Omi had bought brother Jeff and I Indiglo watches and we both decided to open her gift on Christmas Eve. Not that we knew they were watches when we opened them, just that we both picked her present to open. We had veeerrrry slim pickin’s when it came to which present to open, since the only wrapped gifts under the tree were from relatives. The ones from Santa didn’t appear until the next morning.

Anyhow, the watches. Suffice it to say we spent the remainder of the time we were supposed to be sleeping playing with our watches and watching them “glow.”

Good times…

Anyway, I *used* to get to open a present on Christmas Eve until I got married…and then that little bit of joy ceased happening. Tim wasn’t very keen on that idea, I guess. I don’t remember, actually. I just know there was no longer a gift to open on Christmas Eve anymore…

*However*

I one hundred percent plan on reviving the one-present-on-Christmas-Eve tradition with the sprout because OMG.

SO. FUN.

I might love Christmas Eve more than Christmas day. I have no idea why…there is just something about it…maybe I’m still hoping Santa drops in…I mean, if you decide to believe in something SO MUCH it just has to come true, right?….Right?!

*sigh*

Tim and I spent all of yesterday checking items off a list that is entirely too long.

The good news is that the dogs no longer smell like…well…suffice it to say they needed a bath, all but one Christmas sugary delight has been created, the house is clean, the cats nails are trimmed (What? Don’t you cut the nails on your cat?), we gave the neighbors our “Happy Holidays” treats (read: tied them to their front door), I picked out THE glider-rocker for the nursery (there was some debate over which one I liked…mostly because I couldn’t remember, even with pictures) and we went into Denver to capture the most insane display of Christmas lights ever. Pictures to come.

Anyhow, my point, because I do have one…probably….

Tim has been home since yesterday and will be home ALL NEXT WEEK. This? Awesome sauce for me and not at all awesome sauce for the blog.

Soooooooo instead of me disappearing for entirely too long (because one day in blog world is like a year in real time), I’ve planned some mostly funny *holiday throwback* blog posts for you.

If you just started reading this blog, first of all, THANK YOU!!! It means so much to me that you take a little time out of your day to come and visit my little corner of random and second, you’re in for a real…um…inside look at my life over the past few years.

I’m pretty sure anyone who actually read my blog back when these were first posted no longer drop by anymore (sad face…I guess I’m boring)…so, really, everyone is probably in for some entertaining reading.

The throwback starts tomorrow.

For today?

A belated Christmas “card” to you…from all of us over at booshy.

(may as well start the throwback with a picture of the cutest Christmas kittens EVER, Chloe and Gracie)

We hope you have a very Merry Christmas or a Happy Hanukkah or Fabulous Kwanza or whatever it is you celebrate, celebrate it to the fullest!

If I were you, I’d live it up now because Paris and London and cosmic shitballs will soon be flying in your direction…

3 Responses to “holiday throwback: the series”


  1. 1 Brandy December 24, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Merry Christmas to you, Tim and your wonderful good smelling and short nailed fur family. :)

  2. 2 Angelia Sims December 24, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Merry Christmas Eve!! It was the same way for me growing up. Christmas Eve we opened all the presents and Christmas morning Santa came. It was soooo exciting!! Jason does presents and Santa all on Christmas day. Bummer!
    Enjoy Tim’s stayca next week. :-)

  3. 3 jodiq December 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Merry Christmas Jessica! Hope mother and child (oh, and Tim too) have a healthy, blessed one!


Comments are Awesome! I love them all!

this is where you ask those burning questions

Enter your email address to follow booshy and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,387 other followers

OR follow booshy with feed burner

booshy tweets!

my past…it happened

clever girls

stealing is not nice


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,387 other followers

